top of page
  • Writer's picturerebeccascookery

Nana's Perfect Pancakes

Fluffy in the middle, beautifully golden on the outside I swear by this 5 step recipe to make the perfect pancakes!


Every Saturday morning I would visit my great Nana Lizzie, she was literally never out of the kitchen and her apron was never off. It's where my love for cooking and baking came from! Nana Lizzie taught me how to make the best pancakes, we made them pretty much every Saturday so I've had plenty practice. Every time I make pancakes now I think of her, it brings back so many memories of being stood on a stool in her kitchen helping to mix the pancake batter. I love food memories like these, to me it's what food is all about!

The key to the perfect pancake is a smooth batter, medium heat in the pan, no butter or oil and to make sure that before you flip there are lots of little bubbles in the batter. My favourite pancake topping without a doubt is nutella and strawberries, although I have grown to love bacon and maple syrup! I would love to hear Nana Lizzie's thoughts on that combo, I reckon she would be horrified lol. I've dedicated this post to the amazing lady who started my love for food, thinking of you always Nana :)


Total Cooking Time

15 Minutes


Ingredients (Makes 6-8 dependent on size)

135g Self raising flower

1/2 tsp Salt

1 tsp Baking powder

2 tbsp Caster sugar

130ml Milk

1 Egg


Method

1. Sift the flour and baking powder into a large mixing bowl. Now add all other ingredients and using a whisk mix until completely smooth.

2. Put a non-stick frying pan on to a medium heat (no butter or oil required in the pan) and using a ladle add a little of the pancake batter at a time. I usually go for a half ladle for a medium sized pancake but make them any size you desire.

3. When you start to see lots of small bubbles appear in the batter its time to flip! The pancakes should only take around 2 mins each side to cook.

4. When both sides are golden set aside on a plate and cover with a clean tea towel to keep them warm if eating straight away.

5. Repeat these steps until you have used all the pancake batter, slather in your favourite toppings and enjoy!






2,688 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page