top of page
  • Writer's picturerebeccascookery

Umami Steak Stir-fry

A 15 minute steak stir fry with umami noodles and rainbow vegetables for a healthy dinner.


I absolutely love a stir fry on a weeknight because it's so quick and a recipe that whatever is in the fridge gets thrown in, its a great way to save vegetables going to waste! I use the M&S rainbow stir fry pack in this recipe but use whatever veg is your favourite and available in the fridge. As always my steak for this recipe is from Scotch Beef which I can find in my local Morrisons. I much prefer to cook a whole steak and slice it rather than buying pre-cut beef, I just find it has much more flavour. I hope you love this recipe, please tag me if you try it out!

Total Cooking Time

15 Minutes


Ingredients (serves 2)

1 Sirloin steak

1 Stir fry vegetable pack

1 Garlic clove (minced)

2 Nests egg noodles

2.5 tbsp Oyster sauce

1 tbsp Dark soy

1 tbsp Light soy

1 tsp Honey

1 tbsp Lime juice

2 tbsp Water

1 tsp Sesame oil

Sesame seeds for garnish


Method

  1. Rub the steak with olive oil and season with salt & pepper. Put a large frying pan onto a medium-high heat, once the pan is hot add the steak. I serve my steak medium rare, so I go for 2 minutes each side but this can be adjusted to cook the steak to your preference.

  2. When the steak is cooked to your liking, set aside on a board to rest, covering with foil to keep it warm.

  3. Add all the sauce ingredients to a bowl and whisk together and set aside so its ready to add to the veg.

  4. Wipe out the frying pan, add a little vegetable oil and add the garlic and the stir fry pack. The noodles should take around the same time as the veg so add these to a pan of boiling salted water.

  5. After around 1 minute of the vegetables cooking add the sauce and leave this to simmer and thicken for a few minutes.

  6. When the noodles are ready add them into the pan with the sauce and the vegetables. Mixing the noodles to coat them in the sauce.

  7. Cut the steak into slices and if you like add them to the pan to heat through a little or serve the noodles with the slices of steak over the top.

  8. Serve the stir-fry, garnish with sesame seeds and spring onion and enjoy!



80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page